Do You Know?

Do you know that MOST if not ALLVeteran’s Affairs Hospitals are college medical schools?  Yes, it’s true for at least two of them that I know of.  One being the University of California at San Diego.  The other one is William Jennings Bryan Dorn VA Medical Center here in Columbia, SC.  I suspect that the rest of them are just as bad.

Yes, you heard it.  Our nations veterans (myself included since I served in the United States Navy from 1981 through 1992) are being treated by STUDENTS!  Yes these people may already have degrees in nursing or in the medical field, however the vast majority of those treating our veterans are students (first time nurses and doctors).  Interesting huh?

This should show you how the veterans of our armed forces are treated.  We don’t even get first rate medical care.  It’s like we’re guinea pigs or test patients for the student population of these medical schools.  I won’t even go into what all I know of by hearsay evidence.  The hearsay alone would send most into shock let alone if not into cardiac arrest.

Are there real doctors and nurses at these facilities?  I’d like to hope so.  However, they are probably few and far in between.  My last appointment with a Veteran’s Administration doctor (Was he a REALdoctor?) was this morning.  He was told only to look at one thing for my current claim.  He did NOTask about any other prior claimed injuries.  Nor was I asked what else might have been bothering me.  This kid (he may have been in his mid 20″s) did his job well and quick.  When going into a doctor’s office, aren’t you asked what your issues are (i.e. ailments and symptoms)?  I surely wasn’t.

Let this be a warning for all the veteran’s.  Perhaps it’s better to get a REALdoctor to look at you even at your own cost.  Yes it may cost out of pocket, but you’ll get better care and you can still use that doctors records in your claim against any Veteran’s Administration claim.

Tags: , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Do You Know?”

  1. kadja1 Says:

    Since the 1980’s they have also allowed doctors into CONUS military hospitals to work. In the Civilian world, they are allowing “Nurse Practitioners” (medical students or students seeking an RN degree) to see patients as well in many states. THAT is because doctors are leaving the US to practice elsewhere because of the new health care stuff that has been passed. If it’s good enough for us, and our military, it should be good enough for this country’s leaders as well. If we have no options, neither should they. Sorry. I pay their checks just like the rest of you. Not only should they have the same standard of care as we do, they should be forced to take a cut in pay from Congress on up and have 2 term limits–period. WE need new blood in there. Sorry but I think neither party has the best interest of the United States in mind.

  2. kadja1 Says:

    Clarification on that FIRST sentence–many were doctors in the civilian world that got sued for malpractice so the military hired them…Go figure.

    • tfrog1291 Says:

      This is in reply of both your posts. Yes, I do know this. It’s also why the military doctors/nurses as well as the Veteran’s Administration have had more and more lawsuits of late. Granted it is hard to sue the federal government, but it’s been done and won more times than not when it comes to the healthcare of active duty military and the veteran’s. If they government would get their heads out of their perspective posteriors, perhaps they wouldn’t tie up the federal court systems with this.

      • kadja1 Says:

        Great point…On a lighter note, I hope you get a kick out of this…Your response brought it to mind! Hope you get a kick out of it. A friend of mine sent it to me:

        I got this from a friend of mine, folks!

        “I met a fairy who said she would grant me one wish.

        Immediately I said, “I want to live forever.”

        “Sorry,” said the fairy, “I’m not allowed to grant eternal life.”

        “Okay,” I said, “Then, I want to die after Congress gets its head out of
        its a–!”

        “You crafty b——d,” said the fairy.”

  3. laurie Says:

    they have a program at the VA in denver for all medical students!

    • tfrog1291 Says:

      This probably isn’t a program so much as the VA hospital in that state as in many others is a medical school. I suspect there are more VA facilities that are on or part of a lot of college campuses in the United States.

  4. laurie Says:

    true…btw…bryant king told me about you…lol

  5. Bryant Says:

    Eco-Village: A Humane Solution to the Homeless

    cedb.asce.org/cgi/WWWdisplay.cgi?283882

    by Y Luo
    … American Society of Civil Engineers … The long-term vision was to create an Eco-Village model for the homeless that would support them to develop work skills …

    More results for native american eco village & homelessSee More
    Eco-Village: A Humane Solution to the Homeless
    cedb.asce.org.
    Like · ·Unfollow PostFollow Post · Share · December 20, 2012 at 8:18pm

Comments are closed.


